Picture
If there is one thing that I get asked make over and over again... this is it. Homemade banana bread. (Does anyone else have to sing that dumb song in your head to make sure you spell 'banana' right? lol) 
Anyways, this is the best banana bread recipe ever. (no really.. it is.) Its easy to make different ways too! For instance: banana bread loaf, banana muffins, mini banana muffins, mini loafs... depending on what you are wanting it for. :) Also can be made with or without nuts. For this post, I am doing mini muffins. And here is why:
     I live with 3 roommates (one that does not like nuts). We all work full time time jobs, and some of us work 2 or 3 jobs. So eating in a hurry is sorta a necessary around here. I make this little muffins, and if they last past the night I bake them (usually they don't), you can put 4 or 5 in a plastic sandwich baggie and either keep them in the fridge, or freeze them. So when everyone is rushing to get off to work and need a breakfast-to-go, they can take out a baggie, open the seal and microwave for 20-30 seconds, and off they go. Its that easy. 

Picture
A Note About Bananas
For banana bread, you will get the best flavor out of a brown- spotted banana. The brown spots are actually the natural sugars from the banana and will greatly enhance the flavor of your bread, and make it naturally sweeter. :) 

Picture
My recipe:
3-4 brown-spotted bananas
1 cup sugar (for not as sweet bread, you can reduce to 3/4 cup)
1/3 cup melted margarine or butter
1 egg, slightly beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups flour
chopped pecans or walnuts (optional) 

Preheat oven to 350. 
Use a baking spray (or liners if you prefer) and coat your baking pan. 
In a mixing bowl, mash up your bananas. I found that a potato masher works best for me. Get out all those lumps. Add sugar, margarine, egg, and vanilla to bananas. Use a spoon to stir. Sprinkle baking soda and salt over mixture and stir in. Then mix in your flour. Your batter will be a little lumpy from the flour.. and that is a-ok. :) 


Picture
Use a little scoop to fill mini muffin pans 2/3 with batter, a regular ice-cream scoop to fill regular muffin pans 2/3 with batter, or common sense to fill a loaf pan. (just pour it in :) )
I sprinkled chopped pecans on top of (most of) my mini muffins. Leaving a few without nuts for my weird roommate. :P

For mini muffins: bake for 10-12 minutes, rotate them halfway through baking
For regular muffins: bake 15-20 minutes, rotate them halfway through baking
For Loaf: 45-50 minutes, also rotate a couple times during baking.

And there it is. I feel as if I just shared a huge secret to the people that know me. This is super easy, and delicious, and possibly one of my all time favorite things to make. I hope you guys try this recipe! Please, let me know how it goes for you!! :) 

-Jenni






Leave a Reply.