Picture
Hey everyone! Well it's Monday again. I love Mondays. :) However today I am down home (which is really only about an hour from where I reside). I'm babysitting my darling niece, Emily, all day while my mom spends time dealing with family matters. Speaking of which, my Grandpa Lloyd is not doing well and doesn't have much time left with us. So please keep my family in your thoughts and prayers! I will try to keep everyone updated on the matter. 
     On a lighter note, I turn the big 2-4 on Wednesday! I'm really excited. I'm off work for the whole day and my darling Brent is taking me to get my nails done, and my friends from work, Ashley and Brian are planning a party for me at a local pub later that night. I absolutely can not wait. :) 
     Anyways.. like I said, I have been down at my parents house all day with a soon-to-be 3 year old. So I've done some cleaning and of course some BAKING. :) One of the things I love about baking at my parents house is my mothers extensive collection of Tupperware. I love using products! If you haven't checked out her website, you should take a look! The downfall to doing this at my parents house.. I don't have my fancy utensils or platters. So yes, I am serving this cake on a cookie sheet lined with foil. Deal with it. lol 

Picture
So little miss Emily let me help her make this cake... (the talented toddler she is. lol) and let me tell you... it is soooooo good! Super moist and full of chocolate! And the icing isn't heavy at all.. it's more like whipped icing. This is where I adapted the cake recipe from. 

Picture
She looks kinda angry... but she's saying "CHEESE!" and laughing at the same time. lol
Picture
Double Chocolate Cake
2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup cocoa, unsweetened
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup cold brewed coffee
1 cup +2 Tbl of buttermilk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
Chocolate Chips

Picture
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350. Use parchment paper or baking spray on a 9x13, or (I used) 2- 8'' square pans. 
In a large mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients. Make a well in the middle of the mix. and add all of the remaining ingredients except the chocolate chips. I hand mixed it so I wouldn't over mix. 
Pour batter into pans. Sprinkle chocolate chips over the batter. 
If making a 9x13 cake, bake for 35-40 minutes. For smaller cakes bake for 20-25 minutes. Rotate halfway through baking. Let cool. :) 

Picture
The  icing I made for this cake is soooo good. Very light and fluffy. This is the recipe I used for the icing. I added about 1 cup of cocoa to make it chocolate. The recipe I adapted from asks you to use a stand mixer.. however I could not find one here (I'm sure it's around here somewhere! lol) So I used the hand mixer. It worked just fine, but took a lot longer and was a lot more work than I had hoped for. However, if you taste it... its totally worth it. This is an excellent recipe, and I will probably used it again. :) I just frosted it up and sprinkled more chocolate chips on top. Delicious!  

I hope you guys get to try this recipe, and enjoy it as much as I did! If you haven't already, please like my facebook page. I'm getting more and more likes and I'm loving it! I'm thinking once I get to 100, another giveaway. What do ya think? :) Also feel free to follow me on pinterest
If you have any comments or questions, please feel free to comment below, send me a message, or get ahold of me through my facebook page

Lizzy
13/8/2012 01:17:10 pm

that looks soooo yummy!
and I'm glad you got to spend the day with Emily too...she looks like she was a big help :P

I'll be prayin for you guys too...I know it's rough with your Grandpa and all :(

love ya best friend!!! :D

Reply
Tara Lidell
22/9/2012 06:16:30 am

Thank you for that double chocolate cake recipe! I stumbled across this blog while looking for a dessert idea, and I'm going to try it! I may come back here to let you know how it went (if you want?) :)

Reply
22/9/2012 12:48:38 pm

So glad you stumbled my way! Please let me know how it turns out for you! :D
Happy Baking! -Jenni

Reply



Leave a Reply.