Picture
I have been thinking about what I want to put on this site all week. This morning, as I worked at the Pinch Of Sugar bakery (I love my job! :D) I thought about it and I just couldn't settle on any certain idea. Now, I'm pretty sure I have an addiction to this fresh produce stand in town. As I drove by today on my way home I saw the most delicious looking watermelons EVER. So I turned around. As I walk up to the stand I see the biggest, juiciest container of blackberries. So... needless to say I passed on the watermelon... for now. :) 
The obvious choice for blackberries was cobbler. But I don't feel like doing the obvious. So here's what I came up with: Mini lemon bundt cakes with a blackberry filling and fresh whipped topping. YES. It sounds soooooooo good! 
So here's how things went down in the kitchen tonight:

Preheat oven to 325, coat mini bundt pan with baking spray.
Cake
1 cup butter (unsalted), at room temp
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
zest of 2 whole lemons 
juice of 1 large lemon
3 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups sour cream

Directions: Cream butter and sugar, add eggs and vanilla. Mix well. add zest and lemon juice. Mix, yet again. Mix dry ingredients in a sepereate bowl. Alternately add dry ingredients and sour cream to creamed mixture. Batter is very thick. Fill mini bundts 2/3 way with batter. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until done. I rotate mine every 7 or 8 minutes so it cooks evenly. For a little extra lemon flavor you can use a toothpick to poke holes in the cake and brush on some more lemon juice. Let cakes cool. 

Sauce/Filling
1 1/2 -2 cups of fresh blackberries
1/4 cup apple juice
2 Tbl granulated sugar
1 Tbl honey
2 tsp lemon juice
dash of salt.

Put all ingredients except lemon juice and salt into a sauce pan on medium heat. Let simmer for 10 minutes or so to reduce, stirring occasionally. use spoon to slightly smash some of the blackberries. Add lemon juice and a dash of salt. 

Picture
Put sauce on lemon cake, top with a nice delicious dollop of fresh whipped cream. Enjoy... over and over again. :) 
So.. what do you guys think? Let me know!! :D 
-Jenni 

Mom
19/6/2012 01:35:45 pm

Looks and sounds so yummy!! You take after me you know! lol Keep up the good work. Love Ya

Reply
Chy
19/6/2012 02:35:58 pm

This is so awesome, I love it! You did an amazing job! I want more lol!!!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.